reality check

Do you remember back when you were a kid and you had huge dreams of being a firefighter, police officer, doctor, lawyer, or a cut throat corporate executive!  Ok, maybe the cut throat part wasn’t part of your dream.  But, you dreamed of what that job might feel, look, and sound like as an adult.

As a young boy I had vivid dreams of being an airline pilot!  I would loose myself in the  to command a huge airplane and control the skies as I soared like the birds.  Well, I didn’t become a pilot.  I don’t even work around airplanes.  I became a pastor!  My dream was to soar above the mountain tops but I found myself walking through the details of life with people on the hard ground!

So, did I fail?  Did my unfulfilled childhood dream leave me alone to ponder my unmet expectations?  Actually, not at all.  The last 16 years of my life have been filled with the most fulfilling, powerful, and rewarding experiences I could never imagine!  Yes, there have been times of drudgery, pain, and struggle.  That’s the reality of life.

A good friend of mine has been a captain for a major airline for over 20 years and his descriptions of the “reality” of the pilot’s life is not all that it’s cracked up to be!

What about you?  What was your childhood dream?  Did you fulfill that dream?  No?     Now, think about your current life, work, and reality.  Would you have the friends, spouse, kids, or co-workers in your life right now if you had followed your childhood dreams?  As a person who believes in the power of God, I can’t help but be reminded of this scripture in Proverbs 16:9, “We can make our plans, but the LORD determines our steps.”

 

About moakster

I am a married to the amazing Johanna, father to Micah, Malachi, Maddoux, and Emerson, and I serve as the Lead Pastor at a great church in the Silsbee, TX.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

